List of Every Quarterback Taken in the First-Round (Super Bowl Era)


Published by: Axel Kilborn

As the NFL Playoffs inch closer to the Super Bowl, and college football officially in its offseason, speculative draft talk will be flooding airwaves before you know it. Most media outlets have already had their sports writers put out way-too-early mock drafts, and we are no different here at Bleacher Brothers. Quarterbacks have been all the rage this past decade, with the exception of 2022 (Kenny Pickett was the only QB taken the whole first round).

As I look to play the role of NFL Draft fortune teller, I felt I needed to know the lay of the land better. Quarterbacks have always been the “Blue Ribbon” farm animals of the draft, and it piqued my interest regarding their historical selection since the inception of the Super Bowl era in 1966. So, I dusted off the old NFL history books and compiled a list of the drafting trends for first-round quarterbacks.

Number of Quarterbacks Taken in the First-Round & Their Teams

Within this compiled list, encompassing both the regular and supplemental drafts, it was revealed to me that the Cleveland Browns hold the record for selecting the most first-round quarterbacks, with a total of seven. The flip-side of that coin has seen the Dallas Cowboys, Los Angeles Rams, New Orleans Saints, and Seattle Seahawks take the fewest, with only two apiece.

Below is the meat; a list of all first-round quarterbacks selected by each NFL team. I even alphabetized it for you. Some of these names, you’ll know, and some you’d like to forget. Others will be foreign to you, lost in the pictures on 8mm film. You’re welcome:


Bengals (six): Joe Burrow (2020); Carson Palmer (2003); Akili Smith (1999); David Klinger (1992); Jack Thompson (1979); Greg Cook (1969). 

Bills (four): Josh Allen (2018); EJ Manuel (2013); J.P. Losman (2004); Jim Kelly (1983). 

Broncos (four): Paxton Lynch (2016); Tim Tebow (2010); Jay Cutler (2006); Tommy Maddox (1992). 

Browns (seven): Baker Mayfield (2018); Johnny Manziel (2014); Brandon Weeden (2012); Brady Quinn (2007); Tim Couch (1999); Bernie Kosar (1985 supplemental); Mike Phipps (1970). 

Buccaneers (five): Jameis Winston (2015); Josh Freeman (2009); Trent Dilfer (1994); Vinny Testaverde (1987); Doug Williams (1978). 

Colts (seven): Anthony Richardson (2023); Andrew Luck (2012); Peyton Manning (1998); Jeff George (1990); John Elway (1983); Art Schlicter (1982); Bert Jones (1973). 

Cardinals (six): Kyler Murray (2019); Josh Rosen (2018); Matt Leinart (2006); Timm Rosenbach (1989 supplemental); Kelly Stouffer (1987); Steve Pisarkiewicz (1977). 

Chargers (four): Justin Herbert (2020); Eli Manning (2004); Ryan Leaf (1998); Marty Domres (1969). 

Chiefs (three): Patrick Mahomes (2017); Todd Blackledge (1983); Steve Fuller (1979). 

Cowboys (two): Troy Aikman (1989); Steve Walsh (1989 supplemental). 

Dolphins (five): Tua Tagovailoa (2020); Ryan Tannehill (2012); Dan Marino (1983); Bob Griese (1967); Rick Norton (1966). 

Eagles (three): Carson Wentz (2016); Donovan McNabb (1999); John Reaves (1972).

Falcons (five): Matt Ryan (2008); Michael Vick (2001); Chris Miller (1987); Steve Bartowski (1975); Randy Johnson (1966).

49ers (four): Trey Lance (2021); Alex Smith (2005); Jim Druckenmiller (1997); Steve Spurrier (1967). 

Giants (four): Daniel Jones (2019); Philip Rivers (2004); Dave Brown (1992 supplemental); Phil Simms (1979). 

Jaguars (five): Trevor Lawrence (2021); Blake Bortles (2013); Blaine Gabbert (2011); Byron Leftwich (2003). 

Jets (six): Zach Wilson (2021); Sam Darnold (2018); Mark Sanchez (2009); Chad Pennington (2000); Ken O’Brien (1983); Richard Todd (1976). 

Lions (five): Matthew Stafford (2009); Joey Harrington (2002); Andre Ware (1990); Chuck Long (1986); Greg Landry (1968). 

Packers (five): Jordan Love (2020); Aaron Rodgers (2005); Rich Campbell (1981); Jerry Tagge (1972); Don Horn (1967). 

Panthers (three): Bryce Young (2023); Cam Newton (2011); Kerry Collins (1995). 

Patriots (four): Mac Jones (2021); Drew Bledsoe (1993); Tony Eason (1983); Jim Plunkett (1971). 

Raiders (three): JaMarcus Russell (2007); Todd Marinovich (1991); Marc Wilson (1980). 

Rams (two): Jared Goff (2016); Sam Bradford (2010). 

Ravens (three): Lamar Jackson (2018); Joe Flacco (2008); Kyle Boller (2003). 

Saints (two): Dave Wilson (1981 supplemental); Archie Manning (1971). 

Seahawks (two): Rick Mirer (1993); Dan McGwire (1991). 

Steelers (four): Kenny Pickett (2022); Ben Roethlisberger (2004); Mark Malone (1980); Terry Bradshaw (1970). 

Texans (three): CJ Stroud; Deshaun Watson (2017); David Carr (2002). 

Titans (six): Marcus Mariota (2015); Jake Locker (2011); Vince Young (2006); Steve McNair (1995); Jim Everett (1986); Dan Pastorini (1971). 

Vikings (four): Teddy Bridgewater (2014); Christian Ponder (2011); Daunte Culpepper (1999); Tommy Kramer (1977). 

Washington (five): Dwayne Haskins (2019); Robert Griffin III (2012); Jason Campbell (2005); Patrick Ramsey (2002); Heath Shuler (1994).

How many quarterbacks will be taken in the first-round of this year’s draft?

Join the conversation by commenting in the section below, or follow us on social media: 

Twitter: @AK98bleacherbro / @BleacherBrother

YouTube: @BleacherBrothersOfficial

Instagram: @bleacherbrothers

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *