Aaron Judge, Shohei Ohtani repeat as All-Star Game starters

Based off of fan voting, sluggers Aaron Judge of the New York Yankees and Shohei Ohtani of the Los Angeles Dodgers will be the only repeat starters at this year’s All-Star Game.

Judge, the leading vote-getter in the majors, topped the big leagues with 32 home runs and 83 RBIs entering Wednesday. He earned his sixth start and sixth overall selection and will be joined in the American League outfield by first-year teammate Juan Soto, a four-time All-Star and first-time starter.

Ohtani, a two-time AL MVP playing in his first season for the Dodgers of the National League, will be the first player to draw four consecutive starts at designated hitter in the Midsummer Classic. Ohtani also was the starting pitcher for the AL in the 2021 All-Star Game, playing as a member of the Los Angeles Angels.

Receiving the most votes in the NL was Philadelphia Phillies first baseman Bryce Harper, who will be joined by teammates Alec Bohm at third base and Trea Turner at shortstop. Harper, a two-time NL MVP, is going to his eighth All-Star Game and will be making his seventh fan-elected start.

The 18 fan-elected starters represent 10 teams — five in the AL, five in the NL, with the Phillies topping the list with three players. Philadelphia was a major-league-best 56-29 entering Wednesday.

The All-Star Game will be played on July 16 at Globe Life Field in Arlington, Texas. The pitchers and reserves for both teams — totaling 46 players in all — will be chosen via player ballots and selections made through the commissioner’s office. The rosters will be announced on Sunday at 5:30 p.m. ET on ESPN.

AL starters:
Catcher: Adley Rutschman, Baltimore Orioles (first starter election; second overall)
First base: Vladimir Guerrero Jr., Toronto Blue Jays (third starter election; fourth overall)
Second base: Jose Altuve, Houston Astros (sixth starter election; ninth overall)
Third base: Jose Ramirez, Cleveland Guardians (third starter election; sixth overall)
Shortstop: Gunnar Henderson, Baltimore Orioles (first starter election; first overall)
Outfield: Aaron Judge, New York Yankees (sixth starter election; sixth overall); Juan Soto, New York Yankees (first starter election, fourth overall); Steven Kwan, Cleveland Guardians (first starter election, first overall)
Designated hitter: Yordan Alvarez, Houston Astros (first starter election; third overall)

NL starters:
Catcher: William Contreras, Milwaukee Brewers (first starter election, second overall)
First base: Bryce Harper, Philadelphia Phillies (seventh starter election, eighth overall)
Second base: Ketel Marte, Arizona Diamondbacks (second starter election, second overall)
Third base: Alec Bohm, Philadelphia Phillies (first starter election, first overall)
Shortstop: Trea Turner, Philadelphia Phillies (second starter election, third overall)
Outfield: Christian Yelich, Milwaukee Brewers (second stater election, third overall); Jurickson Profar, San Diego Padres (first starter election, first overall); Fernando Tatis Jr., San Diego Padres (second starter election, second overall)
Designated hitter: Shohei Ohtani, Los Angeles Dodgers (fourth starter election, fourth overall)

–Field Level Media